Two Limerick Players included for game versus Under 21 Squad

UEFA Regions Cup Finals

Istanbul 2017.

Amateur Coach Gerry Davis begins his preparations in trying to defend the UEFA Regions Cup Trophy when he will play Noel King’s Under 21’s home based players in the AUL Complex on Saturday next with a 2pm kick-off.

Gerry will be without a number of key players that helped the Munster Connaught selection reach the finals in Istanbul after qualifying from a very difficult Group in Milan in October, he will have to plan without the likes of Ken Hoey, Mark Horgan, Danny O’ Neill, David Hoban, Brendan O’ Connell who are all out though personnel commitments and injuries. With so many absentees it will give new comers to the squad the chance to put them in with a chance of making the twenty man squad for the finals.

The finals this year will take place in Istanbul, Turkey from the 29th of June through to the 9th of July. The draw for the two Groups of four will take place in Istanbul on the 2nd of March and going in to the hat with hosts Istanbul (Turkey) will be Ingulee Kirovograd Region (Ukraine), Castilla y Leon (Spain), South Region (Russia), Olomouc Region (Czech Republic), Region 2 (Rep of Ireland), Zagreb (Croatia). The teams drawn in Group A will be based at the Turkish Federations training centre while the teams in Group B will be located at Hotel Limak.

Junior Council have issued an invitation to the Jersey FA for two friendly internationals in May with the likely venues to be Cork and Limerick, details should be confirmed later this week. The Manager is also looking at a warm weather training camp prior to the squad’s departure to Istanbul and locations are being costed.

Squad: Gary Neville (Pike Rovers), Mark Power (College Corinthians), Shane Daly Butz, Sean Mc Gloughlin (UCC FC), Hughie O’ Donovan, Simon Falvey, David Kiely, Andrew Gannon (Avondale FC), Jimmy Carr, Paul Breen (St. Michaels FC), Conor  Griffin (Calry Bohs), Declan Duggan (Rockmount FC), Chris Fox (Douglas Hall FC), Padraig O’ Connor, Chris Smith (Abbeyfeale Utd), David Joyce (Clonmel Celtic), Stephen Keely (Regional Utd), David Sweeney (Ballincollig) Eoin Collins (St. Marys FC), Eoin Hayes, Stephen Kelly (Newmarket Celtic).

All players are requested to meet at the AUL Complex at 10am next Saturday.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *